Kat Von D’s Shade + Light Contour Palette Review

Review_Kat_Von_dkatvond_shadelight001Photo Via Temptalia.com

Recently released by Kat Von D, the Shade + Light Contour Palette features three highlighting shades and three darker shades for contouring. It is comparable to the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit. Anastasia’s kit has been on my wish list for quite some time but, I was a little hesitant to purchase it because of the price and the fact that I am still unable to get the right look when I try to contour. So far the best combination I’ve found is adding a darker foundation to contour areas and add a little bit of bronzer to the areas once the darker foundation is blended into my usual foundation. I like Maybelline Instant Age Rewind and Naked Flushed. Unless I’m going out somewhere at night I prefer to make a subtle contour during the work day.

My thoughts about the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Palette:

PROS

  • Sturdy packaging
  • Clear Mirror (unlike some palettes that have a cheap plastic one)
  • Blends Easily
  • Smooth Finish

CONS

  • Colors may be a little too light for some skin tones
  • Too much sparkle in the darker colors

Overall this is a quality palette that I am happy to add to my collection. Kat Von D also released a contour brush along with this palette, that I plan to purchase. At $36 the brush is pricey but, I have other Kat Von D brushes and they are super soft and durable. I’m in need of a really good contour brush!

I’d love to hear your thoughts! Does anyone have both the Anastasia & Kat Von D palette? How do they compare?

sincerelysignature

 

15 Comments

    1. Jamie Wiley

      January 14, 2015 at 11:34 am

      I totally agree! She’s super talented as well.

  1. Sarah's Colors Make-up Artist

    January 14, 2015 at 10:00 am

    Great post! Still need one of those palettes šŸ˜‰

    1. Jamie Wiley

      January 14, 2015 at 11:33 am

      Thank you for reading! It is definitely worth purchasing.

  2. izziefox

    January 14, 2015 at 10:05 am

    Great review! I really want to try one of her liquid lipsticks šŸ˜Š

    1. Jamie Wiley

      January 14, 2015 at 11:31 am

      Thank you for reading! I know, I really want to try the Lolita color but it has been sold out forever.

  3. vogueinfatuation

    January 14, 2015 at 11:08 am

    great review, i want to try this ! x
    just followed, would be much appreciated if you followed back <3

    1. Jamie Wiley

      January 14, 2015 at 11:29 am

      Thanks for reading, I followed you!

  4. makeupwithanni

    January 15, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    How would you compare this Contour Palette against the Anastasia one? Im just curious…. šŸ™‚

    1. Jamie Wiley

      January 15, 2015 at 4:24 pm

      Unfortunately I do not have the Anastasia palette but, based on the reviews I read, Kat Von D’s is easier to blend. Anastasia actually has two palettes one for light and dark complexions so, you’d have the option of getting colors more suited for your skin tone.

  5. makeupwithanni

    January 15, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you for this response. I actually own an Anastasia Contour palette and all i can say is that its really really amazing. I wish i could find to buy this one as well, so could make a VS post… ahha…. I chose to nominate you for the Liebster Award. Please check my post for the rules, and good luck.
    https://makeupwithanni.wordpress.com/2015/01/16/liebster-award/

  6. Friday Favorites January 21 | Sincerely, Miss Design

    January 23, 2015 at 6:56 am

    […] Shade + Light Contour Palette – I posted a quick review of the contour palette last week. (Click here to see the post) My lovely Husband bought me the brush to go along with the palette for Valentine’s Day and […]

  7. beausandbows

    February 1, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    What an awesome review! I’ve been looking at this palette for a while, but I think it would be too light for me ): That’s a bummer that the darker shades are sparkly! I bet they’re still lovely though.

Leave a Reply